This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Install help

The33Elites

Mon Jul 21, 2014 6:25:01 am

Noob here. My interest in the Linux has brought me here to try Zorin 9 as my first Linux distro. I have an older pc with Windows 7 64bit Installed.

My problem. My cd drive is broken and my only choice for install is usb.

Goal. I have 2 hd in my pc, my primary has Windows 7. I would like to install zorin 9 on my second hd. I have remove the volume and it is now listed as unallocated awaiting zorin 9 arrival

I have spent hours searching guides and tutorials that has got me no closer to installation. What I have tried so far; downloading both zorin 9 x86 and 64; installing both with unetbooter, universal usb, rufus, xboot. Results; no mbr found, blinking cursor (install freeze), blinking cursor then loading of Windows. I don't know how to download grub4dos or syslinux.

I'm at a dead end what am I doing wrong. What do I need to do?

Please do not send me dead links, I looked at most of them already

Swarfendor437

Mon Jul 21, 2014 9:13:45 pm

You don't even need a USB (I have yet to try this - if I do I will make a vid):

http://www.opensourceforu.com/2009/03/i ... om-an-iso/

The33Elites

Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:18:51 am

"The only requirement is that you should have a pre-installed GNU/Linux system—which you already have, I assume."

This is my first install of Linux and I have a windows PC. Any other ideas?

Swarfendor437

Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:56:49 am

Oops! my bad - sorry! :oops:

This may be a better solution but not sure how it would translate for Zorin:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In ... VirtualBox

The33Elites

Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:17:33 am

so i'm pissed, i took my cd drive from my other shitty cpu, now zorin loads but gets stuck at the splash screen?

Wolfman