[SOLVED] changing default OS

[SOLVED] changing default OS

Postby wael1012 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 9:30 pm

I installed Zorin alongside with Windows 7 and I would like to change the default OS to windows
Last edited by wael1012 on Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
wael1012
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:22 pm

Re: changing default OS

Postby madvinegar » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:51 am

One easy way would be to install the startup-manager and change it from there.
To install open up a terminal and write:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install startupmanager



If this will not work (there have been some roumors that the startup manager is not working for everyone) try the following:

When you boot and the grub menu opens, count the options in the grub menu and remember which number is the win7 option. (i.e. lets say for example that the win7 option is the last one in the list - i.e. the 6th one - counting from up to down).

When you log in to your desktop open a terminal and write
Code: Select all
gksudo nautilus

Navigate to /boot/grub/ and open the file "grub.cfg".

The file starts something like this:

Code: Select all
GRUB_DEFAULT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
GRUB_TIMEOUT=10


Change from the 1st line (GRUB_DEFAULT=0) the "0" to the number of the grub option that you want to load automatically at start-up.
NOTE: "0" is the number of the first option (i.e. now is linux). So "0" is for the 1st option, "1" is for the second option etc. Thus, if the Win7 option was the 6th one in the grub menu, you should insert number "5" in the line above. Is this understandable?

Once you change the first line i.e. to: GRUB_MENU=5, save the file and exit.

Open terminal again and write:

Code: Select all
sudo update-grub


Reboot and hopefully this time the load option would be win7.
Zorin-OS 6 Ultimate 32bit - Kernel 3.2.0-29
Genuine Intel CPU T2250 1.73GHz ‖ RAM 3086 MiB ‖ Hewlett-Packard G5040ea
Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller 1280x800
Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C
Broadcom BCM4311 802.11b/g
User avatar
madvinegar
 
Posts: 2374
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: changing default OS

Postby wael1012 » Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:09 pm

Thank you very much for your help.
User avatar
wael1012
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 1:22 pm

Return to Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests