[STICKY] Pulse Audio How-To (Skype How-To, see 3rd post)

[STICKY] Pulse Audio How-To (Skype How-To, see 3rd post)

Postby Wolfman » Sat May 12, 2012 10:11 am

Hi all,

I recommend that for the best sound playback; you use "Pulse Audio Manager", it has a good number of settings which under normal circumstances will give you excellent sound support.

Install the packages:

libsox-fmt-all

and:

paman

You might want to check that the package "sox" is also installed just to be on the safe side!!. (You can look in Synaptic but it should already be installed! and if it isn't, install it, it is very important!)

You will find the Pulse Audio Manager once it is installed; under Sound and Video in the main apps menu.

You can install both packages either via Synaptic or using the terminal with the command:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install libsox-fmt-all paman


You may also want to install the package "alsa-firmware". (Not really sure if this is necessary!!)

Use Paman in conjunction with the normal sound manager and check that your microphone is set to high!!!!.

Important settings are the input/output sections:

Skype users see 3rd post in this thread as this contains info about the microphone not working!!.

I also recommend installing the following packages if they are not already installed using the terminal command:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install faac flac




READ THIS AS WELL, IT HAS SEVERAL TIPS:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PulseAudio


Alsamixer:

if you still have problems, try using the Alsamixer tool, simply type "alsamixer" in a terminal and a window will open, it is keyboard controlled, the commands are listed in the window:

Code: Select all
alsamixer


https://wiki.ubuntu.com/Audio/Alsamixer

See also:

http://itsfoss.com/fix-sound-ubuntu-1304-quick-tip/

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SoundTroubleshooting

For laptops/Notebooks, see also:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/150887/s ... 959#150959

Regards Wolfman :D
Volume Control_001.png
Volume Control_001.png (71.16 KiB) Viewed 4050 times

Volume Control_002.png
Volume Control_002.png (61.54 KiB) Viewed 4050 times
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something that the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Zorin OS 8 Ultimate 32 Bit. Zorin Lite 8. Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 5535
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: (STICKY) Pulse Audio How-To

Postby churito » Sat May 26, 2012 7:32 am

Is this the best set to have sound & video in Skype? Please, tell me how should I configure the app. Thanks, regards.
User avatar
churito
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 7:10 pm

Re: (STICKY) Pulse Audio How-To

Postby Wolfman » Sat May 26, 2012 8:24 am

Hi,

these are my prefered settings for Skype or any other sound ap. Don't allow Sykpe control of the mixer!!. Go to Sykpe > Options > Sound Devices and take out the tick!!. (Where it states: Allow Skype to automatically adjust my mixer levels!)

For problems with the microphone in Skype, go here and follow the advice, it is very good and worked for me!:

http://howterrorisminindia.blogspot.de/ ... ested.html

ATTENTION ZORIN 8 USERS, SKYPE MAY NOT WORK (THE SOUND) WITH IT, I USE ZORIN 6 WHEN USING SKYPE!.

Try installing this pacakge and see if it helps:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install libasound2-plugins:i386


And also run this command:

Code: Select all
Exec=/usr/bin/env PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 /usr/bin/skype


You should also use a 2nd AWN panel or Docky because if you close the Skype window, you won't see the button in Windows 7 mode!.

Regards Wolfman :D
Options_005.png
Options_005.png (91.66 KiB) Viewed 4019 times
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something that the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Zorin OS 8 Ultimate 32 Bit. Zorin Lite 8. Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 5535
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Re: [STICKY] Pulse Audio How-To

Postby yamamax » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:35 pm

Thank you for all the responses.
I tried them all, but still no sound. I had it working with the 32 bit and switched to the 64 bit ultimate version, that's when I started having problems. I tried installing the 32 bit version again, but still no sound. When I use pulseAudio Volume it shows it indicates that it is sending sound.

In the Sound Setting there is no hardware listed and the output is Dummy Output.

Anymore suggestions would be appreciated.
User avatar
yamamax
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:45 pm

Re: [STICKY] Pulse Audio How-To

Postby Wolfman » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:59 pm

Hi yamamax,

do us a favour and start your live cd again and see if you have sound, that way we know it is a simple case of the sound not switching on during boot.

Before that, go here and post the command into a terminal and then look in startup applications that the Pulse sound manager is starting with the system:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2406

Regards Wolfman :D
Regards Wolfman :D

Kindness is something that the blind can see and the deaf can hear :)

Preparation and planning prevent poor performance! :)

Zorin OS 8 Ultimate 32 Bit. Zorin Lite 8. Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit
User avatar
Wolfman
 
Posts: 5535
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Return to How-tos and Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests